EU Supervisory Authorities

Published by Alisha McKerron

In celebration of today’s Data Privacy Day and in the spirit of empowering individuals and businesses to respect privacy, safeguard data and enable trust, I have compiled a list of EU supervisory authorities (a.k.a data protection authorities) in the 27 EU member states, with links to their website:

  1. Austria Österreichische Datenschutzbehörde
  2. Belgium Autorité de protection des données
  3. Bulgaria Commission for Personal Data Protection
  4. Croatia Croatian Personal Data Protection Agency
  5. Cyprus Commissioner for Personal Data
  6. Czech Republic The Office for Personal Data Protection
  7. Denmark Datatilsynet
  8. Estonia Estonian Data Protection Inspectorate
  9. Finland Office of the Data Protection Ombudsman
  10. France Commission Nationale de l’Informatique et des Libertés – CNIL
  11. Germany splits complaints amongst a number of different agencies; to sort out which one applies use: Die Bundesbeauftragte für den Datenschutz und die Informationsfreiheit
  12. Greece Hellenic Data Protection Authority
  13. Hungary National Authority for Data Protection and Freedom of Information
  14. Ireland Data Protection Commissioner
  15. Italy Garante per la protezione dei dati personali
  16. Latvia Data State Inspectorate
  17. Lithuania State Data Protection Inspectorate
  18. Luxembourg Commission Nationale pour la Protection des Données
  19. Malta Information and Data Protection Commissioner
  20. Netherlands Autoriteit Persoonsgegevens
  21. Poland The Bureau of the Inspector General for the Protection of Personal Data – GIODO
  22. Portugal Comissão Nacional de Protecção de Dados – CNPD
  23. Romania The National Supervisory Authority for Personal Data Processing
  24. Slovakia Office for Personal Data Protection of the Slovak Republic
  25. Slovenia Information Commissioner
  26. Spain Agencia de Protección de Datos
  27. Sweden Swedish Authority for Privacy Protection ( IMY)

Privacy authorities in non-EU member states which together with the 27 EU members states make up the European Economic Area include:

  1. Iceland Icelandic Data Protection Agency
  2. Liechtenstein Datenschutzstelle
  3. Norway Datatilsynet

What may also be of interest is the following list of countries, which have been recognised by the European Commission as providing adequate privacy protection:

  1. Andorra
  2. Argentina
  3. Canada
  4. Faroe Islands
  5. Guernsey
  6. Israel
  7. Isle of Man
  8. Japan
  9. Jersey
  10. New Zealand
  11. Switzerland
  12. Uruguay

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s